Springport Public Schools

A Proud Tradition, A Promising Future

Golden Apple Award: Employee Recognition Program


1996-1997 1997-1998 1998-1999 1999-2000 2000-2001

Melissa Johnston

Michelle Mead

Kathy Carpenter

Robert Nelson

Sally Zimmerman

Chris Talbot

Leona Keeler

John Lincer

Dave Lutzka

Jill Good

Rebecca Ethridge

Doreen Woods

Veronica Cockroft

2001-2002 2002-2003 2003-2004 2004-2005 2005-2006
Judy Kingsley

Carol Spanninga

Jackie Hector

Pat Henne


Tina Thurow

Polly Pakonen

Judy Kidder

Rex Carter

Chris Kregel

Jill Cline

2006-2007 2007-2008 2008-2009 2009-2010 2010-2011

Lisa Overweg

Denise Tomasello

Sally Wurst

Lorna Gonzalez

Fran Kenton

Mannes Todd Overweg

Carolyn Hisler 



             2011-2012            2012-2013  2013-2014  2014-2015  2015-2016

        Katie Konkel




In order to recognize employees of the Springport  Public School District for outstanding performance, the following program has been adopted:

“Golden Apple” awards will be presented to employees each year under the following conditions:

1. Awards will be presented to employees whose behavior over a period of time, or during a specific brief episode is significantly above and beyond
that which is expected.

2. Employees must have completed at least three years of service with the Springport Public Schools to qualify. Under extraordinary circumstances,
the three years of service criteria may be waived to recognize a specific, brief episode of outstanding performance.

3. Eligible employees may be nominated by a fellow staff member, administrative staff member, or any member of the community.

4. A selection committee consisting of the administrative team shall meet to review the nominees and make the selections.

5. The recipients will be recognized at the regular Board of Education meeting and presented with the “Golden Apple”.

6. Recipients will receive a letter of commendation from the superintendent of schools and a copy of the commendation letter will be place in that employee’s file.